Dave Kriz

Sep 10 2018

Youth Salute 2018 Recap


As a part of our involvement in youth and leadership, Hills Bank sponsored the Youth Salute Leadership Awards for the 24th year on September 9th. The purpose of this program is to recognize high school seniors for academic excellence, leadership, and service to their school and community. Youth Salute is a part of a national recognition program coordinated by the National Council on Youth Leadership. Almost 300 students from 17 area high schools including City HighClear Creek AmanaEnglish ValleysHighlandIowa MennoniteIowa ValleyLisbon, LibertyLone TreeMid-PrairieMount VernonReginaSolonWashington (IA)West BranchWest High, and Williamsburg were honored for their academic achievement and leadership contributions. Students were selected by their high school faculty to receive the prestigious award.


Jaxon Mullinix


Maya Durham

Maya Durham from City High and Jaxon Mullinnix from Lone Tree were recognized as the Outstanding Youth Leaders. Each will receive the opportunity to attend the National Council on Youth Leadership Town Meeting on Tomorrow, an event that brings together youth leaders with diverse backgrounds from across the nation. The students will gather in St. Louis at Washington University in October. Runner-up Outstanding Youth Leaders were Quinn Kopelman from City High and Anjali Huynh from West High.

Other local leadership award winners included Alaa Ali (West High), Janelle Beemon (Liberty), Kate Benzing (Solon),  Kate Cavanagh (Mid-Prairie), Matthew Colon (City High), Ryan Cooper (West High),  Davis Dawson (Clear Creek Amana), Meirav Flatte (City High), Alexa Fredericks (City High), Mary Catherine Graff (Regina), Grace Greer (West High), Gracie Greiner (Washington), Lauren Grove (City High), Emily Harold (West Branch), David Hora (Washington), Hayden Johnson (City High), Madelyn Luegering (West High), John Lundberg (Williamsburg), Cole Mabry (West High), Adri McCall (City High), Zoe Miller (City High), Lillian Prybil (City High), Gretta Rempel (IMS), Jenna Runge (Solon), Michael Santoro (City High), Holly Schneider (Highland), Luke Stein (Regina), Gokul Thangavel (West High), Andrew Tribbey (City High), Rachael Volkman (City High), Samantha White (Mount Vernon), April Wilson (City Hight), and Steven Yuan (West High).

This year’s ceremony included an inspiring address from Jean Prahm. Jean is in Health Care Administration at University of Iowa Healthcare. She lives in North Liberty, Iowa with her husband Ryan, who is an attorney at Pugh Hagan Prahm in Coralville, and her three children Alana, AJ, and Kate.

Prior to entering the field of health care, Jean led a remarkable team on their journey to make women’s bobsled an Olympic sport. Over the course of her career, Jean became a two-time World Cup Champion, won three world championship medals, was a six-time National Champion, and was one of the first women to represent the United States at the Winter Olympic Games in the sport of Bobsled.

The 2018 Youth Salute participant photo bios will be on display throughout these Hills Bank locations:

  • September 10 – 17: 2621 Muscatine Ave, Iowa City
  • September 17 – 24: 1401 S Gilbert St, Iowa City
  • September 24 – October 1: 201 S Clinton St, Iowa City
  • October 1 – October 8: 131 E Main St, Hills
  • October 8 – 22: 1009 2nd St, Coralville
  • October 15 – 22: 720 1st Ave SE, Mount Vernon
  • October 22 – October 29: 120 5th St, Kalona
  • October 29 – November 5: 590 W Forevergreen Rd, North Liberty
  • October 29 – November 5: 229 8th Ave, Wellman
  • November 5 – 16: 2481 Hwy 92 E, Washington

Hills Bank is proud of the many outstanding students we have seen come through this program. Below is a list of the Outstanding Youth Leaders from the previous 12 years.

• Nina Elkadi (West High)
• Samuel Smith (Highland)

• Michael Moonjely (West High)
• Lucia Wagner (City High)

• Sonali Durham (City High)
• Myles Young (City High)

• Eric McDonald (City High)
• Hannah Twitchell (West High)

• Cassidy Bringle (City High)
• Blake Oetting (West High)

• Sarah Fischer (West Branch)
• Kieran Green (City High)

• Christopher Drew (West High)
• Jessica Ziniel (Regina)

• Taylor A. Fulton (Iowa Mennonite)
• Bryan Martin (City High)

• Young Seol (West High)
• Sonya Zhu (West High)

• Lena Conner (West High)
• Nick Williams (Regina)

• Emily Adair (Solon)
• Madison Adams (West High)

• Josh Lipman (West High)
• Alyssa Levitz & Carly Levitz (West High)

Dave Kriz

About Dave Kriz

Dave Kriz is Vice President, Youth and Education Director for Hills Bank. He has been at Hills Bank since 2001. As a former teacher, Dave is active in youth and education programs that Hills Bank sponsors. Each year, Dave also organizes the Youth Salute program that recognizes outstanding high school seniors in our surrounding communities. Dave can be reached at dave_kriz@hillsbank.com.

This entry was posted in News and Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.